Lifeguard Course


American Red Cross Lifeguard Certification

This is a blended learning course. Participants must try out to enter the course. Once they pass the try-out, then they can do the 7 hours of course work online and 20 hours of practical skills on land and in the water. This course provides certification in Lifeguarding, First Aid, and CPR/AED for the Professional Rescuer for 2 years.

We require a minimum of at least 4 participants to be able to run the course. Please register with the front desk or online prior to the tryout date. If a participant is unable to pass the tryout, their registration for the course will be refunded.

Course Fees:

Members: $200, Non-Members: $225

Re-Certification Fees:

Members: $125, Non-Members: $150

Try-Outs

Everyone must try out to determine whether or not they qualify to take the course. If you intend to come to a try-out session, please reach out to our Lifeguard Instructor, Mark Mellon, via email at mmellon@ywcagettysburg.org to let him know you are coming.

The try-out consists of:

  • A 300-meter swim (front crawl or breaststroke)
  • Treading water without using your hands for 2 minutes
  • Dive to the bottom of the pool for a 10 pound brick, swim 15 meters on your back with the brick, and get out of the pool; all in under 1 minute and 40 seconds

To view a video example of the tryout, please click here.

Once you pass the try out, then you can begin the online course material.

Please contact our Aquatics Director, Mark Mellon, at 717-334-9171 ext. 129 or by email at mmellon@ywcagettysburg.org for more information.

Upcoming Courses & Try Out Dates

Register online by Clicking Here or call our Front Desk at 717-334-9171.

April

Full Course

April 16, 17 & 18

Tryouts: Monday, April 12 @ 3:30 pm

  • Friday, April 16, 5:00 pm – 9 pm
  • Saturday, April 17, 1 pm – 6 pm
  • Sunday, April 18, 8 am – 6 pm

Full Course

April 23, 24 & 25

Tryouts: Monday, April 19 @ 3:30 pm

  • Friday, April 23, 5:00 pm – 9 pm
  • Saturday, April 24, 1 pm – 6 pm
  • Sunday, April 25, 8 am – 6 pm

May

Full Course

May 14, 15 & 16

Tryouts: Monday, May 10 @ 3pm

  • Friday, May 14, 5:00 pm – 9 pm
  • Saturday, May 15, 1 pm – 6 pm
  • Sunday, May 16, 8 am – 6 pm

Full Course

May 21, 22 & 23

Tryouts: Monday, May 17 @ 3pm

  • Friday, May 21, 5:00 pm – 9 pm
  • Saturday, May 22, 1 pm – 6 pm
  • Sunday, May 23, 8 am – 6 pm

June

Full Course

June 11, 12 & 13

Tryouts: Monday, June 7 @ 3pm

  • Friday, June 11, 5:00 pm – 9 pm
  • Saturday, June 12, 1 pm – 6 pm
  • Sunday, June 13, 8 am – 6 pm

Full Course

June 18, 19 & 20

Tryouts: Monday, June 14 @ 3pm

  • Friday, June 18, 5:00 pm – 9 pm
  • Saturday, June 19, 1 pm – 6 pm
  • Sunday, June 20, 8 am – 6 pm

July

Full Course

July 16, 17 & 18

Tryouts: Monday, July 12 @ 3pm

  • Friday, July 16, 5:00 pm – 9 pm
  • Saturday, July 17, 1 pm – 6 pm
  • Sunday, July 18, 8 am – 6 pm

Full Course

July 23, 24 & 25

Tryouts: Monday, July 19 @ 3pm

  • Friday, July 23, 5:00 pm – 9 pm
  • Saturday, July 24, 1 pm – 6 pm
  • Sunday, July 25, 8 am – 6 pm

August

Full Course

August 13, 14 & 15

Tryouts: Monday, August 9 @ 3pm

  • Friday, August 13, 5:00 pm – 9 pm
  • Saturday, August 14, 1 pm – 6 pm
  • Sunday, August 15, 8 am – 6 pm

Full Course

August 20, 21 & 22

Tryouts: Monday, August 16 @ 3pm

  • Friday, August 20, 5:00 pm – 9 pm
  • Saturday, August 21, 1 pm – 6 pm
  • Sunday, August 22, 8 am – 6 pm

Steps to Successfully Passing the Course

  1. Complete the tryout session.
  2. Finish all online course work.
  3. Attend all class sessions.
  4. Pass the rescue scenarios and written exam on the last day of class.